Show not Tell

Home / Writing / Show not Tell

In story writing we are learning to ‘show and not tell’ how our characters are feeling. We have to use great vocabulary to show their feeling and actions.

We used as many of these demand words as we could to write our paragraph.

scared

Scared by Ben

One day at home I was scared and petrified. I went and jumped in bed. I went under my blanket. I poked my head out of the blanket. It was Casper the ghost. My knees were knocking, my palms were sweating. My teeth were chattering and my heart was thumping.

 

Scared by Brock

I think my house is haunted because every night I hear a screeeeeeeam!!! I see ghosts. Tonight is so so scary. I see things. My knees were shaking, my teeth were chattering and my heart was thumping.

 

Scared by Jye

I was petrified. My knees were knocking and my heart was thumping so so fast. My chattering teeth and my sweating palms were shivering. My boat was sinking!

 

Scared by Ryland

On Saturday I was scared because someone was trying to break into our house. My knees were knocking and my palms were sweating. My teeth were chattering and my heart was pounding. I was petrified.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *